Monday Moaning

It tastes like chicken… But it isn’t chicken!

I read yesterday that PETA has offered a $1million prize to the first person that can ‘make’ chicken.

A synthetic chicken.

Same texture, same taste, even look like chicken.

Race to serve up artificial chicken for a $1m prize

Dutch scientist Mark Post displays samples of in-vitro meat, or cultured meat grown in a laboratory, at the University of Maastricht. Photograph: Francois Lenoir/REUTERS

Dr Frankenstein

This is just straight out scary.

This is a poultry version of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein…

This is Chickenstein!

This is scarier than Scooby Doo!

It’s all very well for animal rights groups and vege/vegans to be concerned for animal welfare; you are not alone there, many of us carnivores and mere mortals are with you. The conditions that animals, particularly chickens are kept are generally horrific and truly a sad indictment on the human race.

But one must ask the question, is it the consumers or the producers (corporations) who are at fault?

My answer is resoundingly the latter; with the caveat that the consumer has the power to change the methods.

Mechanically separated chicken used by all fast-food restaurants to make chicken nuggets and patties

But this is not the essence of my moan this morning. I am asking the question, what are we looking at in this artificial ‘solution’?

More chemicals by which we slowly poison ourselves, subject ourselves to illness and cancers, genetically modified gunge with which to assuage our collective conscience.

It is bad enough to eat the crap pictured, but what comes next I believe is the next stage in degradation.

There is no way that you’ll ever convince me that meat, chicken or otherwise, that is grown/created in the laboratory like a bacteria or a virus remotely copies the properties of meat, regardless of how it looks, feels and tastes.

This is another example of man running amok, playing God; and I don’t agree with it.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Well, that’s just a little disturbing and a LOT disgusting. That is playing God for starters, and just WRONG on so many levels. Is there nothing sacred or even still real in this world. Stopping by from Reduce Footprints Meet & Greet and so happy to have “met” you.

    Like

    Reply

    • @TheOB, as I said, I find it more than a little disturbing. There is nothing sacred in this world as long as money is involved, that is where we go so wrong as a species. Thanks for the visit and comment, and nice to ‘meet’ you too. I’ll hop over your way and have a look.

      AV

      Like

      Reply

  2. Well hullo there meet and greet partner 😀
    I thought I’d drop by and see what you are talking about and frankly you are now responsible for putting me off my lunch!
    Oh my, I have once bought DD a McDonalds as a ‘treat’ and how bad do I feel now I’ve seen that awful stuff coming out of a machine? Thanks goodness she thought it was vile and a big disappointment from the promises the golden arch makes.
    I don’t understand the need for fake foods; we either eat meat (hopefully responsibly sourced) or we don’t. Isn’t that the choice?

    Like

    Reply

    • @MrsG, yes, it is a choice; and I like your proviso in parentheses… responsibly sourced. I have stopped buying, and eating, all these chicken steaks and fry-up bits; won’t have them in the house.

      Sorry about the lunch.

      Thanks for popping over from the ‘meet and greet’. I plan to hop around later and see what everyone’s up to.

      AV

      Like

      Reply

  3. Eeeeuuuuwwwww! That is disgusting!! In truth, it seems to me that they are trading one problem for another. After all, “artificial” is … well … ARTIFICIAL!

    If it’s not real food then we shouldn’t be putting it in our body.

    Thanks, AV … you’re rather like a “diet buddy” because … my appetite just went out the window. (LOL)

    Like

    Reply

    • @SF, quite turned my stomach when I saw that grotesque gunge. I was even further disgusted when I read the site (I forgot to add a link, in hindsight that may have been a blessing) and discovered exactly what that gunge contained. You’re not the only one that I diverted from their planned dietry course today.

      Thanks for the tags on FB, I haven’t really figured out what they did, or how to replicate them, but I will.

      AV

      Like

      Reply

  4. Although I do see your point on artificial food, (I do agree that any artificial food is truly bad for us), I must comment on one thing. If creating an alternative to torturing and eating animals is playing God, what do you call torturing and eating the creatures He created? Isn’t killing also playing God?? I do agree that an artificial means of creating a food to make veganism more appealing is bad for our health, but what about our environment? What do we do with all the water and land we waste on mass-producing animals like a factory? We waste it. Eating meat is bad for the planet, and therefore I believe that what PETA is doing is actually the greener option. I can see where you’re all coming from, as people who make sure to choose the greener option even when eating meat, but for the common public who don’t make the greener choice or simply choose the cheaper option, it may be a nice way to create a greener world, even if it has to start off artificialy.

    Like

    Reply

    • @Mandi, I call eating the creatures He created the natural order of things as in His design. It is the way man raises the creatures to be eaten and what we do to the food that is the problem. I fully support PETA when they protest about the way animals are raised. Sadly many of the ‘common people’ do choose the cheapest option and for that we have to blame the corporations and governments who have reduced the world to such levels of poverty. When you have the choice of eating well or paying the mortgage, many prefer to pay the mortgage and eat cheaply, therefore the corporations survive and continue to feed us crap. I believe that we are on the brink of a global revolution that will make the Arab Spring look like a picnic; this will see us deserting the cities and returning to the country in order to survive, this will not be a picnic, because a vast majority of the populace do not have the skills to survive without a supermarket. This eventuality will create further violence because who lack the required skills will take from the ones who do. I once said that I will not be here to see it, but recent events have changed this, I am 60 now, and I will see it in my life time and so will you. Many of the things that are needed for a vegan lifestyle currently come from the supermarket, but with no supermarket do you have the skills to produce your own? I am using ‘supermarket’ here to represent everywhere we buy stuff to live, for example it includes home appliance stores.

      I laud your efforts, but while you can do it at the moment that may not always be the case and certainly won’t be for your children.

      Yes, I am a pessimist, which is a realistic optimist. I am not saying that you do, but many live with their heads in the clouds and as a result can’t see what’s happening around their feet on the ground.

      I truly don’t know what is going to become of the human race, but in the long term, I see us heading for extinction that we have guaranteed by over population. The solution to that is very painful indeed, more so because of the value we place on life.

      Thanks for your comment, just because I don’t agree, doesn’t mean that it is not a valid part of the argument.

      AV

      Like

      Reply

  5. This is so disgusting. These kinds of things make me feel even better about being a vegetarian.

    Like

    Reply

    • @prairieecothrifter, welcome to my blog. It is an eyebrow/bile raiser, isn’t it. Even for us carnivores we avoid this type of rubbish. The corporations rely on the ‘uneducated’ to consume it, which they do willy-nilly. The ‘chickenstein’ meat, if it is ever successful, I believe will follow the same route, I can’t see right-minded people falling for the GM stuff.

      Thanks for the visit and comment.

      AV

      Like

      Reply

Be green, say something

