Change the World Wednesday – 1st August

A potential blogger

3:30pm – Time to put my pants on.

Heck, I live alone, nobody cares and Lixo (cat) is playing in the park.

But I don’t suggest you try the visual, it’s not a pretty sight.

Any way, I bet you’ve all sat in front of the PC in your underwear at some stage and won’t admit it.

I’ve had an intermittent net connection all day and it has hampered my blogability somewhat.

I am proud to present this week’s CTWW challenge. Why? Because, I suggested it. 🙂

This week take a look at your yard for toxic and/or non-environmentally-friendly materials. For example, does your garden hose contain lead? Is the pool, yard toys (slides, swings, doll houses, etc.) made of plastic? How about buckets, tools, garden pots …. or window netting for insects … are they made of harmful plastic? Identify the materials used for the things you have in your yard and then, make plans to replace those items with Eco-friendly, safe versions. NOTE: we’re not asking you to run out and replace everything in your yard … but simply to evaluate items and replace as you can or deem fitting.

What type of plastic?


Or …

Don’t have a yard, patio, etc.? Then your challenge is to look indoors. Focus on one room and do the same … identify any harmful, non-Eco-friendly materials and make plans to replace them. This might include paint with harmful ingredients or a plastic shower curtain. Other ideas include plastic decor, light bulbs, etc.

It was based on a post I did a couple of weeks ago: This is a shocker

I am not going to actively participate this week, but I will say that in my small yard I have a number of plastic buckets that I use as planters and a couple of pieces of hose; I have no idea if they are safe or not as I didn’t buy them, rather I salvaged them from the street.

But to help you along, I’ll leave you with a couple of links that will help you understand the problem and identify some plastics. Both are from Bad Plastics and another

And this:

“The latest scientific research has given us a lot of good reasons to think carefully about how we use plastics. The main concern with several types of plastic is that they contain endocrine disruptors — substances that, when taken into our bodies, alter normal hormonal function. Over the past several years, scientists and the media have struggled to find answers to mysteries such as precocious puberty, declining fertility rates in otherwise healthy adults, hyperactivity in kids, the fattening of America, and the persistent scourges of prostate cancer and breast cancer. Although multiple factors play a role in all of these conditions, one recurrent theme is the brew of endocrine disruptors infiltrating our lives.

Effects of Endocrine Disruptors

Endocrine disruptors (which are now widespread in food, water, soil and even the air we breathe) include a long list of chemicals such as dioxins, cadmium, parabens, bisphenol A, phthalates, polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs), agricultural chemicals, polybrominated flame retardants, and some of the active ingredients in sunscreens.”

From: MotherEarthNews

.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Alex Jones on August 1, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    I can imagine I will be in for a shock if I did this analysis.

    Like

    Reply

Be green, say something

