Change the World Wednesday – 5th Dec

I still can’t do it.

CTWW is like a craving.

Small Footprints is still on her hiatus

This week, it’s just a little post, an update on my passion fruit.

Passion fruit growing alongside the house

Passion fruit growing alongside the house

Update: I forgot to add this text…

A bezerra (big black bee) pollinating a passion fruit flower in my yard. These bees are necessary because of their size, as they are getting the nectar, the pollen brushes off on their backs, and hence taken to the next flower where their backs rub against the stamen and deposits the pollen.

That’s it. Satisfied my craving. I know the photo is terrible, it was worse until I attacked it and altered the colours, etc.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by smallftprints on December 5, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    Wow … your passion fruit is fabulous! I love how it trails the wall! Does your plant produce a lot of fruit? I’ve only had passion fruit once when I was in South America … it was wonderful! I’m so glad that CTWW is in your blood! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • >SF, there are 30+ fruit in various stages (you can see one in the video) and every day at least 5 new flowers open for the big black bumble bee to pollinate; the best day was 11 flowers. The flowers open about 2pm in the afternoon and wither early evening, so the window for pollination is small. The vine stretches about 30ft and it actually two plants intermingled. Nice to see you about.

      AV

      Like

      Reply

      • Posted by smallftprints on December 11, 2012 at 3:15 pm

        Are the flowers fragrant? They are beautiful … I had no idea, though, that they are so short-lived. Good that your pollinators are diligent! 🙂

        Like

  2. Uh Oh … didn’t think that my comment “took” … appears that it did! Sorry about the repeat! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by Alex Jones on January 3, 2013 at 8:17 pm

    Never seen a black bee before. Thanks for showing.

    Like

    Reply

Be green, say something