Monday Moaning

World’s first lab-grown burger is eaten in London

Prof Mark Post, of Maastricht University, explains how he and his colleagues made the world’s first lab-grown burger

 

The world’s first lab-grown burger was cooked and eaten at a news conference in London on Monday.

Scientists took cells from a cow and, at an institute in the Netherlands, turned them into strips of muscle that they combined to make a patty.

Researchers say the technology could be a sustainable way of meeting what they say is a growing demand for meat.

Critics say that eating less meat would be an easier way to tackle predicted food shortages.

The burger was cooked by chef Richard McGowan, from Cornwall, and tasted by critics Hanni Ruetzler and Josh Schonwald.

Upon tasting the burger, Austrian food researcher Ms Ruetzler said: “I was expecting the texture to be more soft… there is quite some intense taste, it’s close to meat, but it’s not that juicy. The consistency is perfect, but I miss salt and pepper.”

Read more

Read more

Opinion:

Yuck!

I don’t care what you or they say, there is no way in Hades that would go near my mouth.

It is just plain disgusting.

It reminds me of a sci-fi book I read many years ago (when reading was actually acceptable) where a race of mute humans were raised like cattle to feed the populace. Nauseating.

But what is more concern to me is nobody knows if this crap has any side effects on the body.

 

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by smallftprints on August 5, 2013 at 1:14 pm

    Too gross for words! Ick!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Yup, I would say that eating less meat would be a good idea. And I ate every piece of flesh under the sun (tripe and brains excepted). Yesterday I ate a perfectly acceptable TVP burger. Eating meat and being environmental don’t go together too well. I tend to get bored with justification for eating meat. There isn’t any.

    Like

    Reply

    • >rough, what’s a TVP burger? I’ll have to google that one. While I eat meat, although I am cutting down, I make environmental inroads in almost all other areas of my life that justify my environmental concerns.

      AV

      Like

      Reply

      • Textured vegetable protein. Nasty manufactured factory food. Soya. Actually can be quite good. Given that it is soya based, I can live with it and it has a nice char grilled flavour and not too much junk in it. I suppose I could look up the ingredients. Just hope it isn’t Monsanto soya 😦 Do hope I don’t get your blog deleted for mentioning the M word. My Clouds one is still up and running after my last Monsanto blasting though 🙂

        Like

      • Thanks for that. Soya is poison. Actually depends on whether it is fermented or not; unfermented soya is poison. That’s something that the western world suppliers forgot to tell us when promoting it. All Asian food using it is fermented, most western food is not. Read up on it. I have posted about this here before. I put is down to using the ‘M’ word (more than once) that caused my blogs to disappear from Blogspot, that’s why I’m here on this pathetic WP.

        Like

  3. I wish you could have seen my expression as I read this, it was one of disgust. Learning to limit the amount of meat society eats would be a much better solution. To think money was spent to create this when research could have gone to something better. Too gross for words.

    Like

    Reply

    • >lsf, I can imagine. I read that it cost an enormous amount to produce, I agree that the money could have been better spent, especially in areas of junk food and obesity related topics.

      AV

      Like

      Reply

  4. […] Vulgaris, decided he had to gross me out first thing Monday morning with this story on lab-grown hamburgers.  So you think you want to lighten your footprint, would you eat meat grown in a […]

    Like

    Reply

Be green, say something

