Simple Green Ideas

The Yuletide season will soon be upon us.

People will start the hunt for a Christmas tree.

There are those who will opt for a fake tree, maybe they are going to recycle the one from last year; if it survived. Maybe they are going to buy a new one to replace the one that didn’t survive.

articial-spruce-chrostmas-tree-

These fake trees cost; they cost money and they cost resources.

Maybe you are from a family that has a real tree, a dying tree, a tree that would have grown to be a magnificent example of nature, if it hadn’t been cut down in its prime to stand dying in a corner of your living room festooned with baubles.

You do this every year, you sacrifice a tree to celebrate Christmas.

 

real-christmas-tree-sm240x360

That becomes this before the end of January…

dead-christmas-trees-from-jek-a-go-go-on-flickr-578x433

After New Year, you pat yourself on the back, “We’ve had a great Christmas and slaughtered another tree!”

It wasn’t such a great Christmas for the dying tree…

Millions of trees around the world suffer this indignity; put to death by Christians as if they were witches during the inquisition.

Think about this.

Think about the alternatives.

Do you have some old wood, timber, lumber around the yard?

Most people do, I do.

Use your imagination…

upcycle-eco-friendly-christmas-tree

Upcycle, repurpose your old wood.

Eeew! That looks a bit grotty!

So paint it with that paint that has been sitting on the shelf in the garage for years, it doesn’t have to be green, nice if it is, but who says green represents Christmas. The spirit of Christmas doesn’t have a colour.

Make your Christmas present to the world this year, save a tree from the agonies of  death, the indignity of garish baubles, the opprobrium of a trash can burial.

Do this and you can be proud after Christmas.

11 responses to this post.

  1. What a great idea! I don’t think the tree looks grotty at all. It looks lovely. Unique. Christmassy.

    Like

    Reply

  2. I’ve been thinking about looking around for a nice branch that’s fallen off a tree and yarnbombing it, seeing as we don’t really ‘do’ christmas here at Waffle Towers!!

    Like

    Reply

  3. I love this look. I have been looking for a way to add the look of a tree to my tiny apartment for the children’s sake and have seen this. I love it but would then have to find a way to store it for next year, I know I could take it apart and reassemble it next year but I would like to find something easier. I know I’m lazy. 🙂

    I grew up with live trees. I never thought about it in this way, it sounds so horrible the way you put it. 🙂 Maybe I’ll just get a small tree with a root bulb and plant it in the field in the spring.

    Like

    Reply

    • >lsf, yes apartment living has its limits. If I did have one of these, I would simply throw it back behind the garage until next year, and another coat of paint. Xmas is horrible from the tree’s point of view… 🙂

      AV

      Like

      Reply

  4. Posted by smallftprints on November 15, 2013 at 12:28 pm

    Oh I love that “grotty” tree … unique and interesting. I’ll bet that, in years to come, the grotty tree will be fondly remembered. Most traditional trees are forgotten soon after the holiday. Thanks for a great suggestion, AV!

    Like

    Reply

  5. I don’t put up any Christmas decorations, in fact I forget about Dec 25th.

    Like

    Reply

  6. […] posted about Christmas trees back in November Simple Green Ideas, giving an alternative to real or fake […]

    Like

    Reply

Be green, say something

