Monday Moaning

We are hearing all the time about meetings, conferences and the like about global warming.

There are billions pledged; the latest $9.3bn, to fight the problem.

Australia is thumbing its nose at carbon footprints, China is racing away with fossil fuels to stoke their furnaces and economy. And, they’re not the only ones.

But is anything actually being done?

Polar caps are melting, Greenland is too. The seas are getting warmer and sea levels rising. Islands like the Maldives and some Pacific nations are on the verge of disappearing.

Everybody is on the bandwagon.

Then there are the climate deniers, claiming it’s all a hoax.

Where is all this money and rhetoric taking us? It seems to me as though we’re no further ahead than we were at the beginning.

Talk, talk, talk, blah, blah!

How about someone actually doing something!

8 responses to this post.

  1. I feel the same way!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Posted by smallftprints on November 24, 2014 at 6:43 pm

    I think it’s very frustrating. In truth though, I gave up hoping that government and big business would pull their weight a long time ago. I do have faith in “we the people”. While it may be difficult for all of us normal people to make an impact, I think that if we all pull together, we can do it … with or without the others. Yes, if the big guys get on board, it’ll be easier and faster but … not impossible without them!

    Like

    Reply

    • >Small, the ‘we’ the people are too few. There are too many of the ‘we’ that are idiots and believe that things are just fine, ergo people who watch mainstream media. Until we wean the idiots off mainstream media to vote these psychopaths out, we are doomed. The ‘big guys’ will only come on board if there is money around, until then don’t bank on it.

      AV

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  3. Posted by marie on November 24, 2014 at 11:18 pm

    I’m a pessimist when it comes to the environment.I don’t believe government or business will do anything to change. I believe they are all corrupted.
    I also agree that there are not enough of us to make any changes, though I do see small changes in people’s awareness it will not be fast enough.
    So, I continue to do what I believe is right for our planet because it is the right thing to do, not because it will make a difference.

    Like

    Reply

    • >Marie, that’s why I consider ‘hnoest politician’ to be an oxymoron, a contradiction in terms. I saddens me to think that there are many good people trying to make small changes in the face of all this corruption.

      AV

      Like

      Reply

  4. Nope no one in government will take on the issue, it would conflict with the values of those filling their pockets with the green paper they worship. I keep doing what I do because it’s right and believe that when the s**t hits the fan it’s people like us that will lead the way and teach others how to made do and succeed.

    Like

    Reply

Be green, say something

