Posts Tagged ‘animal products’

Monday Moaning

How ‘vegan’ are you?

Come on, really…

Just look at this chart, how can you escape animal products completely in today’s world?

You can try, but I don’t believe you can. Oh, and that’s just cattle… what about the pigs and chickens?

Advertisements

Make you Fink on Friday

Try it for a day

This week the topic has been “vegan” on Reduce Footprints Change the World Wednesday challenge challenged everybody to go vegan for one day.

During my research into my post, I found this:

Hidden Animal Products

It is very difficult to avoid animals products in this ‘modern day and age’. Here is a list of some common things that surprisingly contain animal derivatives and others that are safe.

Casein: This is a product made when milk is heated with an acid, like lactic acid. This stuff mostly occurs in “no-lactose” soy cheeses like Soyco, Soy Kaas, AlmondRella, Zero-FatRella, HempRella, and TofuRella Slices.
The labels say “lactose-free” (lactose is another milk derivative), but that doesn’t mean they are therefore vegan, as we used to incorrectly assume. Soymage soy cheese is 100% vegan, but it’s kind of gross. Vegan-Rella is also totally vegan. Casein is also used in plastics, adhesives, and paint manufacturing.
Caseinate: Casein mixed with a metal, like calcium caseinate or sodium caseinate.
Chewing Gum: Some chewing gums contain glycerine. Wrigleys gum contains a vegetarian source of glycerine.
Margarines: Can contain fish and other marine oils. Many margarines contain whey.
Nougat: Usually contains gelatine.
Pasta: May contain egg, especially if fresh. Some pasta in Italy contains squids’s ink; this can easily be recognized because the pasta is black.
Pastes: Glues. May be animal or fish derived.
Pastry: Animal fats used in most shop-baked pies etc. Check ingredients.
Phosphates: Derived from glycerol and fatty acids. May be from animal bones too.
Rennet: An enzyme taken from the stomach of a newly killed calf. Used in the cheese making process. Look for rennin or the words “made without animal rennet”.
Shortening: Can be made from animal fats. Used in the food industry especially pastries and biscuits.
Stearate: This usually comes in the form of _calcium stearate_, and it is found in hard candies like Gobstoppers and Sweetarts as well as other places. It comes from stearic acid, which usually is derived from tallow, or animal fat. Stearate is also used in vinyls (like car seats) and plastics.
Sweets: Watch out for gelatine, eg.: wine gums. Nearly all mints eg.: Polo, Trebor, Extra Strong etc contain gelatine. See also Nougat.
Whey: Liquid part of Milk

What is cochineal/carmine?

Cochineal is a bright red colouring matter made from the dried bodies of a Mexican insect Dactylopius coccus. Billions of these insects are raised and destroyed each year for a red colouring that is used in desserts, some strawberry soya milks, clothing, etc.

An average two to three cows have to kick the bucket to keep you comfortable in the leather seats of your family car.

Enough to make you think.

Almost every facet of our lives is tinged by the use of animal products.

So if you are a vege or a vegan, remember when you hop in your SUV, or perhaps you have a ‘green’ electric rollerskate , the seats you sit in, the paint work the glue and other parts of your vehicle may well have animal derived products.

So, getting back to Small Footprints challenge; if you drove your car the day you chose to ‘go vegan’ then the chances are you failed.

 

Monday Moaning

Vegan friendly

I read this morning about ‘vegan wines.’ Then I nearly choked on my second coffee as I pondered… but, but wines are made from grapes and stuff (yes, there are fruit wines), there’s no steak or pork chops in wine making.

Which all lead to the big question; what the hell are these veges and vegany people up to now?

Well, the post talked about organic farming and there was a new term for me ‘biodynamic’ which sent me off to that great internet oracle Wikipedia:

Biodynamic agriculture is a method of organic farming that treats farms as unified and individual organisms, emphasizing balancing the holistic development and interrelationship of the soil, plants and animals as a self-nourishing system without external inputs insofar as this is possible given the loss of nutrients due to the export of food. As in other forms of organic agriculture, artificial fertilizers and toxic pesticides and herbicides are strictly avoided.

So, I am on a learning curve and I haven’t even finished my second coffee.

Reading further, I discovered some things about wine that I didn’t know. “Many wines are refined and clarified with egg, fish bladder and/or gelatin to remove various particles.” Quote from: Organic Authority.

Toe Jam

So, my initial reaction that they were worried about bullshit ah, manure, was a presumption. Although they don’t specifically mention bullsh… ah, manure in the vegan aspects, I wonder if they object to that as well.Which further lead me wonder what we would do with all the bullsh… ah, manure and political rhetoric in the world if we couldn’t use it to fertilise our grapes.

All this of course prompted me to wonder whether or not ‘toe jam’ was considered to be an animal product.

I am not a vege, nor a vegan, I am a healthy, if overweight (mainly due to my sedentary lifestyle), carnivore and consider these vege and vegany things to be fads perpetrated by the misguided; unless you are specifically allergic to some products.

I wonder as to where the bus will stop next… will grapes be banned from wine because someone heard one squeal as it was be cruelly trodden on?

Here’s something new to consider. Biodiversity itself uses animal products. For example, spraying the vines with ‘Preparation 501’ to enhance photosynthesis. Prep 501 is made from cows horns and manure.  Check here.

So we really are on the horns of a dilemma. How far do we go?

Check out the list on One Green Planet, there’s hardly anything in the supermarket that veges and vegany types can eat. I must admit, I was suprised.

NB: This was written somewhat tongue in cheek between my second and third coffees of the morning. I realise that there are those of you who take this seriously and consider your ideals to be loftier than those of us who are mere carnivores… It appeals to my mischievous nature.

%d bloggers like this: