Change the World Wednesday – 29th May

running lateRunning late today, although when you get to my age, it’s more like a fast hobble.

Doing things, not doing the things I should be doing, but doing other things.

My mean green leaf eating machine from Sunday’s Nature Ramble is doing fine. He wasn’t very active in the clip I posted, so I shot an action movie yesterday, you can see that on my post Day Off. Could be inline for an Oscar here.

I have resigned myself to the harsh white light of the eco-bulb. Every time I turn it on I am reminded of the line in the song… ‘Blinded by the light….’

Click on the banner for the full post

This week’s CTWW is about water, again, but with a difference.

This week challenge others to reduce water. You might write a post, asking your readers to take shorter showers or to wash full loads of laundry. Perhaps you ask your Facebook or Twitter followers to let their lawns go dry for a week. This will be your challenge … you may make it as broad or specific as you wish and on any platform that suits you. The goal is to expand our circle and get more people reducing water use.

 

OR … If you’d rather not challenge others, then please find additional ways to conserve water in your household.

Botequim10

The botequim nextdoor

The botequim next door, my favourite watering hole, has a hose for the players and kids from the praça to use as a free shower or drink. It’s a service that the bar does for the praça, because the bar has to pay for the water used.

Many times the kids forget to turn of the water, or waste it with horseplay. I began policing the use, and reminding the forgetful ones to turn of the spigot. Since I started now many of the fregües (regulars) have adopted the same role.

It’s not so often now that we have to remind kids, they’ve got used to the idea and have become self-policing.

It’s a small thing, but the word has spread.

This is the type of thing that I do as a matter of course, not just because it is a CTWW challenge.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by smallftprints on May 29, 2013 at 7:14 pm

    And the Oscar goes to … AV & his Lean Green Eating Machine! 🙂 He’s gorgeous … I hope he cocoons on that same plant so that you’ll see him evolve. What fun! 🙂

    Nice job encouraging kids to save water … and you’ve even gotten other joining the “turn off the water” movement. The really great thing is that when they are home, I’ll bet they think about it and conserve there too. Nicely done, AV! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • >Small, he’s even bigger today and his poo is the size of raisins; what goes in, must come out. He seems to have a predilection for guava leaves and I have three growing here, so I don’t think he’ll be hard to keep track of. I am hoping to see him develop his cocoon and eventually emerge as a hawk moth.

      The water idea with the kids has been on-going for three years, I hope it opens some eyes.

      AV

      Like

      Reply

Be green, say something