Change the World Wednesday – 28th Aug

Unusual-excuses-for-running-late-300x199Running late again.

My day was divided into three halves, and time just went out the window.

I first saw CTWW challenge at 6am, but to no avail. Now I am trying to catch up on a days blogging.

My name is Cloro, not Inigo Montoya, just prepare to be loved

My name is Cloro, not Inigo Montoya, just prepare to be loved

Firstly, I would like you to welcome my new playmate. His name is Cloro, he’s about five weeks old. Neighbours who knew of Lixo’s demise brought him round on Saturday, so I am no longer catless, I have an outlet for my caternal instincts.

Secondly, I would like to admit to an error. Last week I posted a picture of my ‘cayenne’ pepper bush. After discovering that the peppers weren’t growing to size, I realised that it is a chili pepper bush. So I have both growing now.

My tomatoes are doing great, harvesting two each day, wonderful because that matches my usage.

.

Click on the banner for the full post

This weeks CTWW is preparing for Zero Waste Week.

This week conduct a daily food waste audit. Pay attention to what is being tossed out, how much is thrown away, where it’s ending up (compost, city compost, trash bin, etc.) and why it’s being tossed out. You might find this Food Waste Diary helpful. If you’re feeling truly ambitious, sort out the food waste and weigh it. This challenge is all about realizing just how much food we waste.

So there’s not actually much to write about at the moment, other than to say that I will be participating and report back next week.

New recycling collection

New recycling collection

There is some local good news. Comlurb (city rubbish collection) has begun a selective rubbish campaign. Apart from our normal rubbish truck which passes in the evening, we now have coleta seletiva (selective collection) truck passing each Tuesday morning for recyclable rubbish. So far I have left glass and plastic bottles out.

So until next week.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by smallftprints on August 28, 2013 at 7:50 pm

    Ohhhh … So glad that you and Cloro have found each other … he’s beautiful! 🙂 And WOW … recycling pickup … that’s FABULOUS! 🙂 I imagine that you’ll have little food waste but … I’m guessing you might be able to offer us some good tips to reduce ours. Thanks, AV! And Congrats on your new furrbaby! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by smallftprints on August 29, 2013 at 10:08 am

    A little bird told me that today, August 29th, is your birthday. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, my friend … wishing you happiness and joy always! Enjoy your special day!!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Cloro is so cute, and appears to be very curious. He should keep you entertained for months on end. Good to hear you now how recycling pickup.

    Like

    Reply

    • >lsf, amused yes, if you call sitting in kitty poop on the sofa amusing… 🙂 But he’s using the dirtbox now. Yes, the recycle rubbish collection was a surprise and I am making the most of it.

      AV

      Like

      Reply

Be green, say something