Change the World Wednesday – 20th Aug

watertapWater

Water has often been the subject on CTWW, it is a valuable commodity, one that we need to survive; without water any man, community or country has three days before they are dead. That makes it a tad more than important.

The first world take it for granted, you turn on the tap and cool clear water comes out; right?

Well, I have always subscribed to this theory, and even though I have spent the last 22 years in third world countries that has generally been true in urban areas aslo.

Until now.

MontezumaRunIn the last two months I have suffered two serious bouts of Montezuma’s Revenge.

Not funny. In fact, it’s enought to give you the shits.

Both bouts stretched over eight days, with terrible cramps and diarrhea.

The common denominator, drinking tap water from my kitchen tap. There is obviously a problem with my roof tank that I have to get seen to.

Now I am pretty ‘water conscious’. I conserve water (three-minute showers, etc), I save water (rain), I reuse water (grey water).

I drink sparkling mineral water in place of soft drinks (soda) and commercial fruit juice. I won’t have them in the house because they pure poison and one of the greatest causes of obesity. Here’s a thought, did you know that Zero Coke is more fattening that normal Coke?

20 litre (5 gal) carrafes

20 litre (5 gal) carrafes

To combat this problem, I have had to restort to buying my water.  I hate the thought of buying a comodity that should be free.

I have always been against buying water, unless it is sparkling mineral water.

But recently, with my own experience of swtiching to sparkling mineral water, I have begun to wonder that water may well be a healthier buy than soft drinks full of poison.

I am buying 20 litre carrafes that are returnable, rather than single serve or 1.5 litre bottles. So even with my current dire needs, I am looking out for what is best for the planet.

Hopefully, I can resolve this problem in short time.

This is an abomination!

This is an abomination!

I am, however, totally against water being bottled, trucked, shipped and flown from far flung places around the globe like Fiji Islands to satisfy the need for consumer sales.

“The natural artesian water from FIJI Water comes to you straight from the isolated and idyllic Fiji Islands without ever being touched by man.” – advertising blurb.

This commerce needs to be banned. It is an abomination. Especially when you know that Fijians from Viti Levu (the second largest of the Fiji Is) are denied this water for themselves. The source for this water is guarded by barbed wire and heavy security.

A note for Americans… Obama drinks it. So where is his commitment to water?

Now the good news. Since I have switched from soft drinks to sparkling mineral water, I have dropped 15kgs (30lbs +/-), two jeans sizes and added two new holes to my belt. So if you are serious about losing weight, stop drinking soda and commercial fruit juice!

Click the banner for the full post

This week’s CTWW is a stinker thinker, Population.

This week, let’s open up the discussion on population as it affects the environment. Please leave a comment and/or write a post about your feelings on the topic. You might discuss if, in your opinion, our growing population is a concern. Perhaps talk about such things as the earth’s ability to support growing numbers of people, or if the number of children we have should be regulated (and if so, by whom). While religious considerations are often a factor in a person’s decision to have children, let’s keep this discussion environmental in nature. Let’s take an honest look at the environmental affects of population growth.

 can-of-wormsOh boy, does this open a can of worms.

The world’s escalating population has been among my thoughts for many years.

First of all we have to realise that our dirtball planet does not have infinte resources.

Since the advent of the industrial revolution, we have adopted an attitude of dig & destroy. The more people there are on Earth the more we dig deeper and destroy more.

We have become a consumer society, the more people, the more we consume.

This is a big problem!

More than a year ago I read, link to source is long lost, that the planet has the resources to support a constant population of 500 million people.

But the population is not constant, it is ever increasingly growing, and currently stands a 7 billion.

Earth-iconNow, you do the math. That’s 14 times the population than the planet can support.

We are exhausting planetary resources like never before; and something’s got to give.

And, it won’t be the planet, it’ll be us!

So what’s the problem?

Births – no. Mother Nature designed life that way. She knows what she’s doing.

So don’t talk about controlling the number of births.

The problem is US!

We have medicine.

That’s the problem!

Not enough people are dying.

People are living longer, longer by many years than Mother Nature intended.

Australopithicus

Australopithicus

Let’s go back in history a little… okay, a lot.

Stone Age man, Neanderthals, Australopithicus. They didn’t live much past 20 years. In the ensuing years we have got religion, life became sacred, we learned how to improve our lot and have extended life to 70+ years. That’s 50 more years than we were designed to live. That’s 50 more years of using the planet’s resources. Each person is using 2½ times his allotted resources.

Ancient civilisations knew that populations had to be controlled. Think of the mass sacrifices of peoples like the Maya and Aztecs. Prehistory shows us that people who didn’t contribute to the tribe were eliminated; remote Eskimos still do this, “Oops, he fell in front of a polar bear.” For how much longer? We are running out of polar bears.

In our hankering for longevity/eternal life, we have created a problem. It’s a problem that has no solution. At least not with our current technology.

This planet is too small.

We need to get off it, and go somewhere else. But that’s not feasible. Only a few selected will ever get off this planet, if ever. The problem will still be here.

Can you imagine what the Earth’s population would be if we didn’t have natural disasters, man-made disasters, famines, epidemics and the like?

The numbers become absolutely staggering.

We would have made ourselves extinct years ago. We wouldn’t be here! The planet would have already exhausted itself.

Most of you, especially those who are afflicted by religion, will find some of these ideas unpalatable, but the truth is often a bitter pill; our social conditioning makes it so. We can’t see outside the box of our upbringing. As long as this is the case there is no solution and the problem just gets worse.

Sometime ago I posted a satirically glib comment. “Legalise all drugs and let natural selection take over.” Now that sounds terrible. We are intent on saving people. Maybe we need to think about that some more.

Deforestation on a grand scale for more crops

Deforestation on a grand scale for more crops

Meanwhile, we’ll continue to dig more holes in the planet, to mine more minerals; we’ll keep pumping hot house gases into the atmosphere as we burn fossil fuels; we’ll continue to reduce the forests to create more pasture and farmland for crops; we’ll continue to pollute the waterways, we’ll continue to deplete and damage the oceans; we’ll continue to poison the land with chemicals from agriculture and fracking until there is nothing left.

I hear people shouting “become vegetarian, save the planet!” But the outcome is the same.

Then what?

WE are making US extinct, a long suffering extinction.

How long before we begin to fight our neighbours for, or to protect our food and water?

The social consquences for humanity are dire. We need to think outside the box, to put practicalities first and our fragile sensibilities on the back-burner, however distasteful that may seem.

I am just glad that I won’t be here to see it. In all probability, neither will you. But what legacy are we leaving our children and our children’s children? Will there, in fact, be a legacy?

Pandora's Box

Pandora’s Box

I did say that this was a stinker.

Pandora’s Box has been opened, even though historically it was an urn, and the evils of the world are afoot.

Can we ever put them back?

Meanwhile, I will continue to do my little bit in the ever frustrating hope that the planet can be saved. I’m not doing it for me, my time is nearly over; but I have raised 13 of the next generation, and they have started with seven of the next and one of them is ripe to begin the next.

I shudder to think. Will their choices be even more difficult? While I am talking about letting people die naturally which is repugnant; will they be talking about culling?

The horrors are unimaginable.

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Shana Rae on August 20, 2014 at 9:08 am

    I’ve drunk bottled water for years because the tap water doesn’t agree with me, though I do used tap water for tea and coffee, seems ok once boiled! And don’t worry about the overcrowding, the aliens are on their way!! 😉

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by smallftprints on August 20, 2014 at 9:22 am

    As always, AV, you show us another side to a situation … and not the one most people have considered. Thank you for your thoughts … you give us a lot to think about. While I’d love to live forever, I do agree that we (society) go overboard saving people, even going as far as to save people who don’t want to be saved. We seem to give everyone the right to have children, but we don’t give people the right to die in the way they wish. I also agree that, while tragic, disasters do “control” population. I don’t know what the answer is, but I do know that if we don’t do something, the result will be pretty awful. So the choice seems to be … either do something now and control the problem, or let the problem escalate and it will control us in terrible ways. Thanks, AV!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • >Small, I love the other comment left by Dani, it too shows us the reality. If we don’t do something extraordinary, it will control us, and we won’t like it.

      I am supportive of euthanasia and assisted dying, I didn’t mention it for reasons of sensibility, I figured that I had done enough damage.

      Oh, living forever… no, it would become boring.

      AV

      Like

      Reply

  3. I have for a while argued that science and technology are our downfall. I’m not talking about iPads. It’s more about the way we’ve ‘developed’ things. The car was an amazing invention but the consumption of fossil fuels has turned the can into a very negative beast I many circumstances. And with it many co inventions- Tarmac that made great roads now seals the ground contributing to flooding. The medical developments that enhance life expectancy and sustain life against the odds are another bad example. We think it’s progress but the consequences are not necessarily progressive.

    Like

    Reply

    • >lizard, so right you are. Progress is an illusion, or rather a delusion.

      I had thought that my post may have been rather too radical, all most heretic, and that I would be derided for my thoughts; however it seems that there are more like thinkers out there, going from the three comments so far.

      Yes, the car and the plane are at the tailend of the industrial revolution, the rest is just a contuing decline into deeper holes.

      Thank you foor your thoughts.

      AV

      Like

      Reply

  4. […] spent all my energey on my first post of the day. Eco-Crap – CTWW – Population I started the post at 2am and after going back to bed finally finnished it at 9am; that’s […]

    Like

    Reply

  5. Maybe you could drink the tap water but boil it first.

    Like

    Reply

    • >Rachel, I have thought about that too. But for the short period involved and the chances of Montezuma’ Revenge returning, I want to be absolutely sure. Another eight days of tummy cramps, etc are not to be relished.

      AV

      Like

      Reply

  6. I don’t think we need to worry about life being extended much more as we are now seeing the next generations being sicker than their parents and reports say they will not live as long.

    If you add in all the lives lost due to wars and had prevented those as well we wouldn’t have any breathing room, that is if we were still here.

    I also agree with the above comment that technology has had a big role in the destruction of the planet through how we have used it to waste even more fossil fuels. And what is wrong with choosing when and how we get to die, we are fine with doing it for our pets. I think we treat dogs/cats more humanely than humans when we choose not to let then suffer with illnesses.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Be green, say something