Change the World Wednesday – 5th Jun

My Mean Green Leaf Eating Machine has disappeared. Read Done a Bunk for the full story.

I am still hopeful that I will see him as a moth, but I’m not holding my breath.

Still, it was a few exciting days watching him deforest my guava tree faster than illegal loggers in the Amazon.

I bought my second energy efficient light bulb to replace the incandescent one that blew out on Sunday night. That’s the two most used in the house now.

I try to be green. I have been interviewed by EcoGrrl, and I realised that I have always been greenish. It was a part of our growing up 50 years ago, we didn’t have to concentrate on recycling so much, because we didn’t have stuff to recycle. Somewhere along the line we lost the plot, I guess it was about the same time as plastic appeared. In those days all bottles were recycled. You paid for the soda/beer bottles and got a refund when you took them back. You didn’t have to think about it. As kids, if we wanted a little extra pocket money, we scrounged the backyard, then the neighbours for ’empties’ and took them to the shop, emerging triumphant with pockets jangling with change. It was a part of childhood.

green_handBut today, the kids are a lost generation. They have to be taught because they have no role models.

They say that technology is progress. I disagree, technology has created a ‘throw-away’ world, a wasteful world, a world where we don’t respect the green hand that always hovered over us anymore.

It was a time when if you didn’t respect what you had, you got a clip around the ear, and deservedly so. Today, it is child brutality and you are risking the kid growing up with a twisted view of the world. I’m sorry, that’s bullshit! I had my ears boxed thoroughly as a kid and I appear to be okay. We are losing our grip.

Click on the banner for the full post

This week’s CTWW.

OPTION 1:
This week drive less … or not at all. Consider walking or bicycling. Plan out trips so that the least mileage accomplishes the most. Plan at least one day when you leave the car parked and perhaps stay at home. Avoid quick trips to the market or driving your kids around when they could walk. If you must make a trip, consider public transportation or carpooling with a friend.

 

OR …

OPTION 2:
This week, for at least one day, go vegan or vegetarian. Yep, meatless for a day … longer if you can. Search the Internet for great recipes. You’ll also find wonderful dishes (tried & tested) right here on this blog (click HERE or use the tabs above).

 

OR …

If you are an Eco-Superstar, do both activities … perhaps for the whole week.

For me this is not so much a challenge. I always use public transport. And, like today, I combined my supermarket trip with returning from work, so I don’t have to make a ‘special’ trip.

My second job, is closer by, and I walk to work. It takes about 25 minutes, and gives me much needed exercise.

This is my sixth beefless week, so I consider my efforts to reduce beef consumption to be doing my bit rather than go totally meatless.

I’m certainly no Eco-Superstar, I don’t have a cape and I wear my underwear on the inside.

Until next week.

.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by smallftprints on June 5, 2013 at 4:05 pm

    Yep, you’re definitely doing your part. So … can you take that one little extra step and go vegetarian for one day? 🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • >Small, I am thinking… 🙂

      AV

      Like

      Reply

      • Posted by smallftprints on June 5, 2013 at 6:39 pm

        Okay … how about if I up the ante for you???? How about going vegetarian for one day and then (because I know that you are a brilliant chef) being my guest chef for July (July 5th to be exact) and creating a vegan recipe for RF? To further up the ante, July 5th is my birthday so, going veg for a day and being my guest chef would be a perfect gift. 🙂 What do you say? Email me if you’re willing. 🙂

        Like

      • >Small, I just got around to reading all comments, I did do vege one day, a simple quiche with mushrooms, peas and corn. Happy belated B/day for the 5th. I’ll work on the other suggestion, too late for now, but I’ll let you know.

        AV

        Like

  2. I am so disappointed to learn you aren’t a super hero after all. 😊. I think you are doing wonderful cutting your consumption of beef.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by smallftprints on June 11, 2013 at 12:31 pm

    Hey … good on you for the veg day! I knew you could do it!! 🙂 Thanks for the birthday wishes but … it’s next month. LOL! Still would love to have you over as July’s guest chef! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  4. Posted by Alex Jones on June 12, 2013 at 4:59 pm

    I observe that technology creates an ignorant lazy society.

    Like

    Reply

Be green, say something